CCS - Certified Clinical Supervisor

Overview of Requirements

Individuals applying for the CCS credential must currently hold the Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC), Certified Co-Occurring Disorders Professional (CCDP) or Certified Co-Occurring Disorders Diplomat (CCDP-D) to be eligible to apply for the Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS).


10,000 hours, full- or part-time clinical counseling experience working with substance use disorder clients at a program licensed by the State of Michigan as a substance use disorder services provider, or MCBAP-approved alternative provider. Included in this must be 4,000 hours, full- or part-time clinical supervisor experience at a program licensed by the state of Michigan. Refer to “Experience” section in the application instructions for further explanation.


30 contact hours in clinical supervision with a minimum of four (4) hours of education in each of the following CCS Domains: Counselor Development, Professional & Ethical Standards, Program Development & Quality Assurance, Performance Evaluation and Administration. Refer to “Education” section in the application instructions for further explanation.


200 hours of direct supervision specific to the IC&RC/CCS Performance Domains. Refer to “Supervision” section in the application instructions for further explanation.


IC&RC/CCS, Clinical Supervisor examination

Code of Ethics

Sign and adhere to the current MCBAP Clinical Supervisor Code of Ethical Standards.


Must live or work within the State of Michigan fifty-one (51%) percent of the time.


When all requirements have been completed, submit your CCS application to MCBAP for review.  All documentation must be on copies of the forms provided and in the format specified in the application forms and instructions. Please note, all requirements must have been completed within the previous ten years of submitting the application.


Submit the non-refundable application fee.

Initial Certification Once approved, the initial CCS certification period will be for two (2) years.


Renewal at the end of the two (2) year period requires submission of the Renewal Application and proof of completion of at least six hours of continuing education specific to the CCS domains.

Application Process

All applications are completed in the Certemy platform. Once approved, the initial certification period is valid for a two year period. Before you start the initial application process, you will need to decide if you would like to be in a 2 year renewal cycle or a 3 year renewal cycle starting after the initial two year period.

General Information for Applicants